Take Action Today!

->Call or email your State Representative

Ask them to support House Rules Reforms that limit the power of The Speaker.

This takes less than a minute, and many representatives simply need to hear their constituents' concerns to convince them to make the right choice. There is a short script below.

Sample Call/Email Script:

Hello Representative ____,

My name is ____ and I'm a constituent of yours. I'm calling today to express my deep concern with the current House Rules. The House of Representatives should have the time and information to make responsible public policy and they should have the power to make their constituent's voices heard. Clearly, that is not the case today.

Rhode Island government has had a reputation for ugly politics for far too long. It deeply needs democratic reform.

I'm asking you as a constituent to be a champion for House Rules Reforms. I am asking you to support the amendments being proposed by the Reform Caucus, and any others that would make the legislative process more transparent, and reduce the power of the Speaker. Please fight for us!

Thank you very much. 

You can view the House Rules Reforms proposals here.

->Email the Reformers and show them some love!

By standing up for House Rules Reforms, these 19 representatives are doing a huge service to everyone in Rhode Island.
Join us in sending them a quick email to thank them for their tireless advocacy! The list of these 19 leaders is as follows, with their email addresses linked in their names.

Edith Ajello (District 1, Providence)
Moira Walsh (District 3, Providence)
Rebecca Kislak (District 4, Providence)
Marcia Ranglin-Vassell (District 5, Providence)
Raymond Hull (District 6, Providence)
John Lombardi (District 8, Providence)
Joseph Almeida (District 12, Providence)
Arthur Handy (District 18, Cranston)
Justine Caldwell (District 30, East Greenwich)
Teresa Tanzi (District 34, Narragansett, South Kingstown)
Kathleen Fogarty (District 35, South Kingstown)
Mary Messier (District 62, Pawtucket)
Katherine Kazarian (District 63, East Providence)
Liana Cassar (District 66, Barrington, East Providence)
Jason Knight (District 67, Barrington, Warren)
Susan Donovan (District 69, Bristol)
Terri-Denise Cortvriend (District 72, Portsmouth)
Deborah Ruggiero (District 74, Jamestown)
Lauren Carson (District 75, Newport)

->Let social media know that you're taking a stand

Use social media to let your friends know that you took a stand for better government, and direct them here so they can do the same.

These buttons will help you conveniently share RiForReform.org to your Twitter followers and Facebook friends.

->Want to do more?

Contact us to learn how!
To learn more, visit Common Cause.